7 facts about the royal coronation ceremony

Home » 7 facts about the royal coronation ceremony
7 facts about the royal coronation ceremony

The ceremonies that symbolize the official enthronement of Britain’s monarchs are called royal coronations. This tradition, which dates back centuries, is intended to show the greatness of the ruler who will ascend to the throne. The coronation ceremony consists of a mixture of political and religious rituals. According to many experts, these ceremonies remind everyone of the role the monarchy once played in England and the world. second mother. King Charles, who assumed the throne after Elizabeth’s death, will be crowned on May 6. So let’s explore seven facts about British coronations and the royal rituals behind them.

1. Not all members of the royal family are invited to the ceremony

The guest list at British coronations includes royalty and heads of state from the Commonwealth and around the world. Also among the invitees are the Prime Minister of the United Kingdom, his cabinet and some relatives and friends of the royal family.

Who is not invited to the party is just as important as what happens.

For example, representatives of the Soviet Union did not attend Elizabeth’s coronation in 1953. Because everyone had the Cold War on their minds. On the other hand, being a member of the royal family does not mean that you will be invited to the party. For example, King George VI’s brothers, the Duke and Duchess of Windsor, were not invited to George’s coronation in 1937.

While adults are often invited to the coronation ceremony, 4-year-old Prince Charles became the first child to attend the coronation in 1953.

2. The coronation has five stages


to get to know: The first of these stages is recognition. At this point, the future ruler is introduced to the congregation.

swear: After the monarch is introduced to the congregation, he takes the Sovereign Oath, also known as the Coronation Oath. In this way, he promises to rule the kingdom with law, justice, and mercy. Since the enactment of the Coronation Act of 1689, the monarch must also take an oath to support the Evangelical Church.

pond: During the consecration, the new monarch is seated in the coronation seat known as King Edward’s Chair. This ritual is performed to consecrate the judgment.

coronation: After the consecration, the new monarch receives royal jewels such as the orb, coronation ring, and sceptre. These jewels are only shown to the public during the coronation ceremony and other special rituals close to it. The bells are rung as the Archbishop of Canterbury places the crown on the new King’s head. Meanwhile, 62 volleys are fired from the Tower of London and the congregation cries out “God save the King/Queen”.

respect: Lords, princes and senior members of the family such as the Archbishop of Canterbury and other bishops swear allegiance to the new king. If there is a queen, she will also be crowned after this step.

3. The sacred part of the ceremony is closed to the public


It is believed that the British monarch is ruled by divine right. The Archbishop of Canterbury blesses the king with oil, with the aim of making him an unquestioned power. After the coronation, holy oil is rubbed on King Charles’ hands, chest, and head with the Coronation Spoon.

This part of the ceremony is considered very sacred. up II. It was the only part of Elizabeth’s coronation that was not televised. Since the 12th century, British monarchs have been anointed with a coronation spoon, the oldest part of coronation ceremonies.

The original Coronation Oil was destroyed during a World War II bombing raid in 1941. Queen Elizabeth’s Coronation Oil is made from a 17th century recipe that includes olive oil, sesame, rose, orange blossom, jasmine, musk, amber and civet.

4. Liber Regalis, a medieval book, serves as a guide during the ceremony


The Liber Regalis or “Royal Book” is a manuscript detailing the order of coronations. It was written in Latin in 1382, and translated into English for the coronation of James I in 1603. So today’s celebrations are based on a 1603 translation of a document dating back to the 14th century.

5. Westminster Abbey has hosted royal coronations for nearly 1,000 years

Royal coronation ceremonies have been held in Westminster Abbey since William’s coronation in 1066. Westminster Abbey has a rich history of religion and monarchy. Important thinkers of England such as Charles Dickens are buried here. According to many experts, Westminster Abbey symbolizes the ideas that made Great Britain great.

6. The Marshal is the person responsible for organizing the British coronation ceremony

Marshal is the highest rank of duke in England. This work has been done by the Dukes of Norfolk since 1386. His responsibilities include not only the organization of British coronations, but also the official opening of Parliament and the funerals of monarchs.

7. The new king wears multiple crowns during the ceremony

Holy Crown of England, st. Edward’s crown is made of gold and decorated with 444 precious stones. King II in 1661. Made for Charles St. Edward’s crown is placed on the king’s head at the time of his coronation. After the ceremony, the King emerging from Westminster Abbey wears the Imperial Crown.

You may be interested in:

The British royal family is at a loss again! What does Prince Harry’s book full of sensational claims tell us?

Random Post